Behind The Label- Wandering Aengus Ciderworks

wandering aengus

This post has been sitting in my draft pile for a while.  It’s a timing thing.  Last autumn Wandering Aengus, the makers of Anthem Ciders, or at least their PA reps, were pouring at Philly’s first Pour The Core cider fest.  Philly is arguably one of the best beer cities but cider is in its infancy.

Though reviewing ciders is always fun, I am sometimes drawn to the labels and story behind the cider makers.  Leprechaun, Naked Flock and Wandering Aengus all make badass labels. I have already featured the first 2 in previous posts so let’s take a look behind Wandering Aengus.

I am a fan of Greek mythology though I wouldn’t consider myself an expert (not even close!), but for Irish mythology I knew nothing until I entered Wandering Aengus’ website.   I was unsure where the inspiration for the name Wandering Aengus came from until I read the Song Of Wandering Aengus.  Here it is:

I went out to the hazel wood, Because a fire was in my head, And cut and peeled a hazel wand, And hooked a berry to a thread; And when white moths were on the wing, And moth-like stars were flickering out, I dropped the berry in a stream And caught a little silver trout.

When I had laid it on the floor I went to blow the fire a-flame, But something rustled on the floor, And someone called me by my name: It had become a glimmering girl With apple blossom in her hair Who called me by my name and ran And faded through the brightening air.

Though I am old with wandering through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun. 

William Butler Yeats

 

Here is a video I found from Donovan singing the poem:

 

 

Now it makes sense.  Take a closer look at their labels and their cider names and you will see the inspiration behind this poem.

For their Bloom: “A glimmering girl with apple blossom in her hair.”  The mysterious beauty appears on the label of Bloom, their semi-sweet offering.

Wandering-Aengus-Bloom-500ml-transparent-140x500

Wanderlust:And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun”.   An apple tree appears on the label with golden apples on the left and silver apples on the right.  An off dry cider.

 

wonderlust

 

Oaked Dry:  “And when white moths were on the wing, And moth-like stars were flickering out, I dropped the berry in a stream And caught a little silver trout”.  A silver trout with a moth and stars appear above the trout on the bottle of this oak aged dry cider.

Wandering-Aengus-Oaked-Dry-500ml-transparent-140x500

I guess she made quite the first impression.  That is the same first impression I got from tasting Wandering Aengus Cider.  Though I am not willing to drop everything and travel the globe,  I will not hesitate to stock up on bottles of  their cider.

 

What's on your mind?

