How do you plan your vacation?

If you are a foodie like me, your vacation planning probably looks like this.

Destination: Vermont

City: Burlington.

I hit the web and Google “Things to do in Burlington Vermont.”  I  find the attractions tab and locate beer/wineries.  Listed are Magic Hat, Long Trail Brewery, Wolavers and Otter Creek.  Hot damn!  I can hit two a day.

On to the wineries.  I find a cool map on Vermontwine.com.  In the Burlington area, I find Shelburne vineyards,  Snow Farm Winery, Charlotte Village Winery and Lincoln Peak .  I love visiting local small wineries.  I will hit two or three of the wineries.

My beer and wine obviously needs cheese.  Hmm. Vermont is known for their cheeses.   I head back online and Google “Cheese farms near Burlington Vermont.”  Shazam!  I come across Vermont Farm Tours.  A bit expensive but you get a guided tour to two or three cheese farms, a three course picnic lunch and a cheese and wine/beer pairing.  What a day that will be.

What’s next? Maple syrup?  I stumble upon Robb Family Farm in Brattleborow, VT.  It says I can enjoy the landscape from the back of a horse-drawn wagon.  The farm offers maple syrup and maple candy as well as natural raised beef.

There is no secret that Ben and Jerry’s is in Vermont so I check the map to see how far from Burlington it is.  Pretty close.  Chunky Monkey anyone?

I’m exhausted and stuffed but I have lots of cool pics, met some cool farmers and got my food and drink on.

How do you plan your vacation?

Don’t forget to subscribe to my blog and follow me on Twitter.

What's on your mind?

